UC San Diego Visual Arts Nominees include:
MFA Alumni Brian Dick, Nina Karavasiles, Shannon Spanhake and UG Alum Camilo Ontiveros; and,
MFA Candidates Nina Waisman and Tristan Shone


Recognition of Excellence in the Visual Arts
New Contemporaries I

Every year the SD Art Prize Art Notes writers and previous SD Art Prize recipients along with the SD Art Prize committee nominates emerging artists as possible suggestions for the SD Art Prize established artists to mentor. These artists are all featured in the New Contemporaries exhibitions held at local sales galleries.



Emerging Artists left to right, top to bottom Alida Cervantes, Allison Wiese, Andy Howell, Ben Lavender, Brad Streeper, Brian Dick, Camilo Ontiveros, Lael Corbin, Christopher N. Ferreria, Jason Sherry, Matt Devine, Pamela Jaeger, Nina Karavasiles, Tania Candiani, Nina Waisman, Shannon Spanhake, Tristan Shone

Images courtesy of the Artists and the San Diego Visual Arts Network San Diego Art Prize.

BrianDickSmiles-SDAP-SDVAN2007-08.jpg7.89 KB
CamiloOntiveros-SDAP-SDVAN2007-8.jpg6.5 KB
NinaKaravasiles-SDAP-SDVAN2007-8.jpg2.25 KB
NinaWaisman-SDAP-SDVAN2007-8.jpg4.68 KB
ShannonSpanhake-SDAP-SDVAN2007-08.jpg14.02 KB
TristanShone-SDAP-SDVAN2007-8.jpg4.86 KB