UC San Diego Visual Arts Nominees include:
MFA Alumni Susannah Bielak and Gretchen Mercedes


Recognition of Excellence in the Visual Arts
New Contemporaries IV

Every year the SD Art Prize Art Notes writers and previous SD Art Prize recipients along with the SD Art Prize committee nominates emerging artists as possible suggestions for the SD Art Prize established artists to mentor. These artists are all featured in the New Contemporaries exhibitions held at local sales galleries.


2011 Nominees

Mely Barragan nominated by Einar and Jamex de la Torre, artists
Adam Belt nominated by Karen McGuire, William D. Cannon Art Gallery Director
Susannah Bielak nominated by Ann Berchtold, Art San Diego Fair Director
Fred Briscoe nominated by Alexander Salazar, Alexander Salazar Fine Art
Isaias Crow nominated by Alessandra Moctezuma, SD Mesa College Art Gallery Director
Shay Davis nominated by Debra Poteet, art collector
Damian Gastellum nominated by Julio Orozco, artist
Gretchen Mercedes nominated by Lauren Buscemi, art writer
Han Nguyen nominated by Robert Pincus, art critic
Jaime Ruiz Otis nominated by Heriberto Yepez, art writer
Lee Puffer nominated by Gail Roberts, artist
Chris Puzio nominated by David Adey, artist
Cheryl Sorg nominated by Patricia Frischer, San Diego Visual Arts Network coordinator

Press Release at: