13-15 August 2010

The 2010 Summer Festival will feature over 80 artists, 25 bands, poetry readings, dance performances, film screenings, and much more. Our website will have a detailed schedule of events, periodic updates, as well as artist and musician bios. Housed in and around historic buildings in Wassaic, NY, The Wassaic Project’s summer festival escapes the white walls of traditional art spaces and focuses on site-sensitive installations and performances. As visitors climb through the vertical bins of our historic wooden skyscraper, they explore the work of over 80 emerging contemporary artists, whose bold and intricate installations, paintings, sculptures and videos responded beautifully to the unique architecture. This festival creates a weekend-long opportunity for the public, as well as artists of all mediums, to come together, exchange ideas, learn new things, and engage in a thriving arts community.

The Film Program, curated by Liliana Greenfield-Sanders, includes a short film directed by James Franco, the Student Academy Award Winning short film “God of Love” directed by Luke Matheny, an award winning independent feature film and many more. Our Poetry Program, curated by James Sherry and Kate Schapira, includes Ann Lauterbach, Michael Gottlieb, and Jeffrey Yang. Our Dance Program includes Naomi Goldberg Haas, Charmaine Warren, and Malinda Ray Allen.

Susan B. W. Abanor, Lauren Adelman, Malinda Ray Allen, Josh Atlas, Jeff Barnet-Winsby, Hannes Bend, Eve Biddle, Myles Bisi, Lorne Blythe, Elan Bogarin, Jonathan Bogarin, Dana Bunker, Hector Canonge, Caleb Charland, Gwen Charles, Kate Copeland, Pamela Council, Ben Cuevas, Richard Deon, Ghost of a Dream, Sam Duket, Stephen Eakin, Cecilia Fletcher, Ryan Frank, Michael Frels, Andrew Frosst, Hope Gangloff, Naomi Goldberg Haas, Jeila Gueramian, Hendon, Nora Herting with Dan Quinn Herting, Greg Hopkins, Walter Hurlburt, Hannah Ireland, Brinton Jaecks, Steffani Jemison, Kate Johnson, Gwynne Johnson, Celeste Joye, Jesse Kauppila, Henry Klimowicz, Jesse Laliberte, Mandy Lamb, Darryl Lauster, Virginia Lavado, Amanda Lechner, Kristin Lee Stokes, Michelle Leftheris, Ross Lowell, Karen Ludlam, Mary Lydecker, David McClain, Abraham McNally, Phyllis Nauts, Daniel Ostrov, Paul Outlaw, Douglas Paisley, J. Thomas Pallas & Joe Miller, Francesca Palombo, John Peña, George Pfau, Kerry Phillips, Suko Presseau, Elvia Pyburn-Wilk, Elena Gilbert (silkscreening), and Alisa Saario (sound), Leah Rico, Christopher Robbins, Allison Roberts, Camilo Rojas, Michael Sarff, Nina Sarnelle, Rachel Schapira, Gary Garrido Schneider, Joshua Selman, Matthew Slaats, Eliza Stamps, Linda Stillman, Breanne Trammell, Michelle Valdez, Clement Valla, Guy Walker, Charmaine Warren, James Weingrod, Julia Westerbeke, Craig Wickwire, Alison Wilder & David Wilder, Brett Windham, Alexandra Winsby, Safety & Wonder, Chin Chih Yang, Alex Young, Bowie Zuninof

For performing artists list, please visit event website.

The Maxon Mills + Luther Auction Barn, Wassaic, New York

Related Link:

Julia Westerbeke is an UC San Diego Department of Visual Arts MFA Alumna. For more about her work, please visit: