UC San Diego Visual Arts Nominees includes MFA Candidate Lesha Maria Rodriguez and MFA Alum Brian Goeltzenleuchter and Alumna Heather Gwen Martin


Recognition of Excellence in the Visual Arts
New Contemporaries III

Every year the SD Art Prize Art Notes writers and previous SD Art Prize recipients along with the SD Art Prize committee nominates emerging artists as possible suggestions for the SD Art Prize established artists to mentor. These artists are all featured in the New Contemporaries exhibitions held at local sales galleries.


Greg Boudreau nominated by Chris Martin , Project X: Art
Kelsey Brookes nominated by Mark Quint , Quint Contemporary Art
Stephen P. Curry nominated by Robin Bright , artist
Steve Gibson nominated by Laurie Mitchell
Brian Goeltzenleuchter nominated by Teri Sowell, Director of Exhibitions and Collections, Oceanside Museum of Art
Wendell M. Kling nominated by Brian Dick, artist
Heather Gwen Martin nominated by Kim MacConnel, artist and Ann Berchtold, director, Beyond the Borders International Art Fair
Robert Nelson nominated by Tom Noel and Larry Baza, Noel-Baza Fine Art
Julio Orozco nominated by Debra Poteet, collector
Allison Renshaw nominated by Patricia Frischer, coordinator, SDVAN
Lesha Maria Rodriguez nominated by Katherine Sweetman
James Soe Nyun nominated by Tom Driscoll, artist
Stephen Tompkins nominated by Robin Clark, PhD, Curator, The Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego