Skip to main content

photo of Adam D. Kamil holding a video camera with the ocean behind him

11th Annual Adam D. Kamil Media Awards

Virtual Awards Ceremony: May 21, 2021, 6:00 p.m. PDT
YouTube Livestream:

View the 25 entries at the Kamil Gallery Online

The Adam D. Kamil Media Awards were developed to help UC San Diego undergraduates polish their skills in film production and to help them realize their creative potential in this field. Adam was a UC San Diego, Visual Arts Media major with a passion for the power of media to connect people. To honor the memory of their son, the Kamil family has established the Adam D. Kamil Media Awards. The awards consist of a grand prize of $2,000 and two finalist prizes of $1,000 each. All entries are viewable at the Kamil Gallery online.

“We hope that through this award, Adam’s creative spirit will inspire others to develop their talents and to grow as sympathetic and sensitive individuals,” stated Elaine Kamil.

Grand Prize Winner:

NightShade by Zimri Zapata

Runners Up:

Dear Angie by Abel Guan

The Sphinx by Conrad Jones

Honorable Mentions:

Not A Toaster by Amedeo Gallo

Drown in the Voice by Cindy Yen

Today Tonight with Mike Unt: 100 Questions with Corporate Cabrona by Tzinti Aguirre-Medina

2021 Kamil Awards Trailers:


Tzinti Aguirre-Medina "Today Tonight with Mike Unt: 100 Questions with Corporate Cabrona"
Juan Centeno "To Tovaangar"
Brian Chen "408"
Alex Dang "Overdoing"
Amedeo Gallo "Not a Toaster"
Abel Guan "Dear Angie"
Wensha Hsu "Greed"
Conrad Jones "The Sphinx"
Minkyung Kim "Dear My Dad"
Zachary Kravitz "Surfing with Vulnerability"
Jieying Li "Josie Marlyn"
Justin Marquez "It Costs Nothing to Dream"
Kristine Nguyen "The Lotus Flower Drifts"
Brad Perez "Diving Deep with Industry Metal Works"
Isabella Quezada "Escape"
Kyle Ethan Ross "Meshes"
Jackelyn V. Santiago "First Emerging Artist of Color: Dominic Cokely"
Yanan Tang "The Act of Consuming"
Emma Thomas "If You Listen to the Lights"
Yihua Wang "Legacy"
Dyme Witherspoon "Dear America"
Xinyi Xu "Private See"
Yuqi Yang "We Can Look Back, But Do Not Go Back"
Cindy Yen "Drown in the Voice"
Zimri Zapata "Nightshade"